Full house as Cecafa Kagame Cup kicks off

Rayon Sports FC

Rayon Sports FC


Thirteen teams arrived in the country on Thursday as the 2014 Cecafa Kagame Cup kicks off on Friday with Rayon Sports and Azam locking horns aiming to go far in the elite regional club championship.

Rayon Sports left Nyanza for Kigali on Thursday ahead of their clash against Azam at 5pm at Amahoro stadium on Friday. Kenya’s GorMahia faces KCCA of Uganda at 3pm while Atlabara and KMKM will face off in early kick off at 1pm.

GorMahia has been prominent absentees from the annual eastern Africa tourney that brings together league champions of the region’s countries.

Making a return after a 19-year absence will no doubt inspire them as they bid to win the title for the fourth time after their conquests in 1980, 1981 and 1985.

Though there is an enormous gulf between the all-conquering squad of the 1980s that brought glory and honour to the country by sweeping all before them including the 1987 African Cup popularly known as Mandela  Cup now renamed Confederations Cup and the current average outfit, Gor still habour hopes of going head -to -head  with the region’s best.

The Kenyan champions have been placed in Pool B alongside Rwanda giants APR, who gave them a 5-1 hiding in 2009  in a Confederation Cup preliminary round tie, Kampala Capital City Authority of Uganda, Atletico of Burundi and Djibouti’s Telecom.

In order to navigate past the group stage, K’Ogalo will need to play high speed football laced with tactical discipline.

Erratic first choice goalkeeper and skipper JerimOnyango will also have to forget his schoolboy errors, the defense must be rock solid, midfield dynamic and the attack lethal.

The diminutive Dan Sserunkuma, who has over the past two seasons built a reputation of a lethal goal poacher, will once again be expected to lead K’Ogalo’s frontline.

Second striker, youngster Timothy Otieno, who has shown much promise since bursting onto the big stage a month ago, will be reason enough for the Kenyan champions to relish their chances.

The 40th edition of the tourney has attracted 14 teams with Yanga, (Tanzania), Coffee (Ethiopia), Rayon Sports (Rwanda), Atlbara (South Sudan), and KMKM (Zanzibar) set  to fight it  out in Group  A while defending champions Vital’O (Burundi), El Merreikh (Sudan), Police of Rwanda and Benadir (Somalia) are in group C.

The winner will be determined on August 24 at the 30,000-seater Amahoro National Stadium. Vital’Ois the defending champions.

Selected Fixtures

August 8 (Amahoro Stadium)

Atlabara vs KMKM 1.00 pm

GorMahia vs KCCA 3.00pm

Rayon Sports vs Azam FC 5.00pm


August 9 (Amahoro stadium)

Vital’O vs Benadir 1.00pm

Police FC vs El Merreikh 3.00pm

APR FC vs Atletico5.00pm


August 10 (Amahoro Stadium)

Telecom vs KCCA 1.00pm

KMKM vs Azam FC3.00pm

Adama city vs Rayon Sports 5.00pm


August 11 (Kigali Regional Stadium)

Benadir vs El Merreikh 1.00pm

GorMahia vs Atletico 3.00pm

Vital’O vs Police FC 5.00pm


August 12 (Kigali Regional Stadium)

KMKM vs Adama City 1.00pm

Azam FC vs Atlabara 3.00pm


August 13 (Kigali Regional Stadium)

KCCA vs Atletico 3.00pm

APR FC vs Telecom 5.00pm


August 14 (Kigali Regional Stadium)

Adama city vs Atlabara1.00pm

Police FC vs Benadir 3.00pm

Rayon Sports vs KMKM 5.00pm


August 15 (Kigali Regional Stadium)

Atletico vs Telecom 1.00pm

El Merreikh vs Vital’O 3.00pm

APR FC vs GorMahia 5.00pm


August 16 (Kigali Regional Stadium)

Adama city vs Azam FC 3.00pm

Rayon Sports vs Atlabara 5.00pm


August 17 (Kigali Regional Stadium)

Telecom vs GorMahia3.00pm

KCCA vs APR FC 5.00pm


Share Button

There are no comments, yet.

Why don’t you be the first? Come on, you know you want to!

Leave a Comment

Facebook Like Box provided by plumber orange county