Rwanda : APRs hopes of winning Kagame Cup dashed away by Yanga

Cecafa/Kagame Cup Tornament

Cecafa/Kagame Cup Tornament

Semi finals, Thursday

Azam vs AS Vita

APR vs Yanga

APR FC’s hopes of winning their fourth Cecafa/Kagame Cup title were demolished after losing their decisive semi final clash against defending champions Yanga Fc of Tanzania yesterday in Dar es salaam.

Ugandan-born striker Diego Hamis Kiza broke the deadlock on 100th minute of extra time when he scored a well-taken set-piece from former APR midfielder Haruna Niyonzima.

Kiiza scored the lone goal of the game when defenders Donatien Tuyizere and Mbuyu Twite were left arguing with Said Bahanuz who had claimed to have been fouled on the left back as play continued.

Both teams had played to an interesting performance in normal time and they would only have to be separated in extra time.

Failure to convert clear cut chances in both halves from Lionnel St. Preux, Olivier Karekezi, Dan Wagaluka, Jean Claude Iranzi and Jean Baptista Mugiraneza cost the military side.

Yanga had a poor first half performance as APR dominated the proceedings but returned back in the second half to take the game into their control.

The game would have ended earlier had Jean Claude Ndoli failed to make a superb save of Bahanuz strike who got a clear opportunity to shoot past Mbuyu on 60th minute.

APR suffered a major blow in the striking force when Lionnel was substituted with a knock on his hip forcing coach Ernie Brandts to bring on youngster Barnabe Mubumbyi who never impressed.

Hegman Ngoma also substituted ineffective Dan Wagaluka in the midfield but Haruna’s industrious work rate outpaced his opponents to help Yanga stamp its supremacy for a second time.

Both sides had met in the group stage and the Tanzanian champions emerged the winner following a 2-0 victory and a convincing 1-0 win again for Yanga yesterday proved that Jagwani boys are smarter that APR.

APR will once again get back to the drawing board and solicit another measure of ever winning the Kagame Cup title on a foreign soil next year. The national champions bagged the title three times at home during the 2004, 2007 and 2010 editions.

Yanga’s victory ensured that this year’s Kagame Cup title will for a second-year running stay in Tanzania since they are facing rivals Azam Fc in the finals on Saturday.

John Bocco and Mrisho Ngassa helped Azam book a place in the finals for the first time in the history of the club championship after overcoming AS Vita of DR Congo in a 2-1 thrilling match.


Frederic Ogwanyi had put Vita ahead on 35th minute before a stunning header from Bocco on 68th and a brilliant strike from Ngassa on 89th minute ensured their way into the finals.

APR will now battle AS Vita in a play-off contest on Saturday in-order to restore the nations’ pride and pocket $10,000 cash prize.

The winner between Yanga and Azam will settle for US$30,000 and Kagame Cup title while runners-up will take home US $20,000 courtesy of President Paul Kagame.

Share Button

There are no comments, yet.

Why don’t you be the first? Come on, you know you want to!

Leave a Comment

Facebook Like Box provided by plumber orange county