Constantine names 20 for Congo qualifier

2015 Afcon Qualifier


Congo vs. Rwanda

Amavubi team

Amavubi team

AMAVUBI HEADCOACH Stephane Constantine named a 20-man squad which will face Congo in the first leg of the final preliminary round of qualifiers for the Africa Cup of Nationsslated for Sunday in Pointe-Noir.

He said on Wednesday before departure that his team will be going for a win.

“It will be a very balanced game but am confident; we will secure a good result before finishing the job here in Kigali,”

“Congo has got a very good team and an excellent experienced tactician in Claude Le Roy but we are ready to handle them,”

“Players have worked so hard and we want to win and try to qualify to the group stages,” added former Sudan and Malawi coach Constantine.

Amavubi team departed for Congo Brazzaville on Wednesday with a 30-man delegation comprised of 20 players. They will connect to Pointe-Noir on Friday ahead of Sunday’s game.

Amavubi defeated 2014 Chan champions Libya by scoring three unanswered goals in Kigali following a goalless draw on neutral ground in Radès while the Red Devils got past Namibia in the previous round with a 3-1 aggregate victory.

Both teams will be relying on a strong base of local players with Dolisie’s AC Léopards and reigning champion APR their main providers.

African champions in 1972, Congo have not qualified to Afcon finals since the 2000 edition of the continental competition, and will try to secure a seventh appearance under the leadership of Africa Cup’s specialist Claude Leroy.

As for Rwanda, they will be gunning for a second appearance after the 2004 success in Tunisia.

The return game will be played in Kigali on August 2, with the overall winners set to join South Africa, Nigeria and Sudan in the Group stage of those qualifiers in Group A.

Amavubi squad: Jean Claude Ndori, Jean Luc Ndayishimiye, HarunaNiyonzima, MedieKagere, Jean BaptistaMugiraneza, Jean Claude Iranzi, Emery Bayisenge, DadyBirori, James Tubane, Jacques Tuyisenge, Jerome Sina, Ismail Nshutiyamagara, Andrew Buteera, AboubaSibomana, Patrick Sibomana, NgirinshutiMwemere, Michel Rusheshangoga, Peter Kagabo, Michel Ndahinduka, Robert Ndatimana.

Share Button

There are no comments, yet.

Why don’t you be the first? Come on, you know you want to!

Leave a Comment

Facebook Like Box provided by plumber orange county